Concordia Seminary Newsroom

Concordia Seminary Newsroom and Press Releases

Meyer Called to Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, Presidency

Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, has extended a call to Dr. Dale A. Meyer, interim president, professor of practical theology and occupant of the Gregg H. Benidt Memorial Chair of Homiletics and Literature, to serve as its 10th president. The call was extended on May 11, after a series of interviews with the final nominees.

“I want to thank and express my deep appreciation and respect for all those who were nominated for the position,” commented Meyer. “Concordia Seminary is about to conclude its 166th year, but this is about the future. We have at the Seminary a burning passion, personally and corporately, to seek God and to be known by Him. This inspires us to pursue the work we do together in this community and to do it with a love and a delight in people.”

Meyer has served as interim president of Concordia Seminary since November 2004. He received the bachelor of arts degree from Concordia Senior College, Fort Wayne, Ind., in 1969. He also received the master of divinity degree from Concordia Seminary, St. Louis (1973), the doctor of philosophy degree from Washington University, St. Louis (1986), and an honorary doctor of divinity degree from Concordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, Ind. (1993). He served as pastor of congregations in Illinois from 1974 to 1988. He served as speaker of the Lutheran Hour radio program from 1989-2001. He joined the Seminary faculty in from 1981 to 1984 and again in 2001. His also has served the church-at-large as in various administrative positions, including service as third vice president of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod from 1995 to 1998. He has hosted the television program “On Main Street” since 1994. He and his wife, Diane, have two daughters.

According to the Bylaws of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod, each candidate was asked “to pledge, if called, to render a decision within 15 days upon receipt of the call.”

The electors who voted to issue the call to Meyer are the members of the Seminary’s Board of Regents (voting collectively with one vote), the district president elected to the Seminary’s Board of Regents (Dr. Arleigh L. Lutz, North Wisconsin District), the president of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod (Dr. Gerald B. Kieschnick) and the chairman of the Synod’s Board for Pastoral Education (John M. Behrendt). The Seminary’s Presidential Search Committee prepared research and recommendations on a list of 15 candidates released in April 2005. The committee included Professors Dr. Charles P. Arand, Dr. Paul W. Robinson, Dr. Timothy E. Saleska, David R. Schmitt, Dr. William W. Schumacher and Dr. James W. Voelz. Also included on the committee are the following members from the Seminary’s Board of Regents: Dr. James F. Ralls Jr., Richard L. Wenz and Dr. John D. Wittenmyer, with alternate member Rev. David V. Dissen.

The previous president of Concordia Seminary, Dr. John F. Johnson, accepted the call to serve as president of Concordia University, River Forest, Ill.

The announcement of the call by the electors and a short news conference with Meyer was webcast from the Seminary’s Web site ( on May 12. A full collection of news releases related to the presidential election is available at