Student Association

Every full-time student at the Seminary is a member of the Student Association. Working through elected representatives, the association serves as the governing unit of the student body. It provides a framework that allows student initiative and energy to make the most constructive contribution possible for developing and sustaining the Seminary as a community of faith and learning.

The association’s objectives are:

  • To govern its members and component organizations by Christian principles and common sense
  • To regulate matters pertaining to the student life of its members that do not fall under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Seminary administration, faculty and staff
  • To further in every way the Christian unity among the community of the Seminary

To hold office in the association, a student must maintain a satisfactory academic record (minimum grade-point average of 2.5). Association office voting positions include president, vice president, spiritual life chairman and five representatives: post-vicarage, pre-vicarage (nonfirst year), first-year, deaconess and Graduate School.

Nonvoting members include the social cultural chairman, intramurals chairman, Around the Tower editor, Seminary Wives Association president or representative, resident assistants, four first-year class representatives (single off-campus, single on-campus, married off-campus, married on-campus) and representatives from each of the officially recognized organizations of the association.

The association meets monthly and calls regular meetings of the student body to conduct and carry out its business. The association also sponsors several events throughout the year for the Seminary community including Oktoberfest, Prof ’n Stein and Springfest.

2019-20 Student Association Executive Council

Matthew Bohlmann

William Fredstrom
Vice President

Paul (PJ) Aarsvold

Jonathan Jahnke
Intramurals Chairman

Joseph Highley
Spiritual Life Chairman

Michael Fox
Health and Wellness Chairman

Michael Wilke
Social Cultural Chairman

2019-20 Student Association Representatives

President: Matthew Bohlmann
Vice President: William Fredstrom
Secretary: Paul (PJ) Aarsvold
Intramural Chairman: Jonathan Jahnke
Spiritual Life Chairman: Joseph Highley
Health and Wellness Chairman: Michael Fox
Social Cultural Chairman: Michael Wilke
Graduate School Representative: Austin Wellhousen
Deaconess Representative: Alexandria Shick
First-Year Representative: Jonathan Sharp
Pre-Vicarage Representative: Donald Stein
Post-Vicarage Representative: George Denholm